New & used books
New & used books - Find the lowest price
Bookmark   Recommend Us   Enhance Your Site   Browse Books   Help   Contact Us
Advanced Search
Welcome Guest [ Sign In, Register ]

Searched in store reviews for Powell's books. 24 store reviews matched your search.

Store Rating:
Summary:
    Last 30 days Last 90 days All Reviews
Count   0 0 24
Positive
- - 62%
Neutral
- - -
Negative
- - 38%
Rate the Store    All Book Stores    Powell's books Customer Service Page


Offering items are not avaible
Reviewed by ElliPirelli  /  August 19 2012
attention: offering items are not avaible!
This is very studies to compare prices and avaiblelities!


Good sale
Reviewed by jamiegirl1969  /  August 31 2010
Received my book quickly no problems!


This store is Awsome
Reviewed by Kalyns Book Korner  /  April 02 2010
I love this store and use it for many purposes. I buy books and use the buy back cart to sell back my books to them. The pay me back by Pay Pal. With in one week my funds are in my account.


great so far
Reviewed by toolman  /  September 20 2009
I have received fast courtious service from Powell's and I have no problem using them or recommending them to others.


They cancel the order half the time !!!!
Reviewed by ClayE  /  August 11 2009
Powells cancels about half of my orders for no reason. Sometimes their site shows the book still to be in stock. If you want your book, try some other vendor. Powells sells through other online stores so beware. They still cancel orders when placed thru these vendors.


Great service!
Reviewed by jamiehupfer  /  February 24 2009
Was processed and mailed immediately.
The book was in new condition. I received email notices letting me know when the book was processed and shipped. Thank you for the great sevice!


Politically Correct, if you're in Oregon
Reviewed by danielbu  /  December 10 2007
Powell's has made a name by being the Amazon of the Utne crowd. Service and availability are similar to the big A.

But the bottom line is that size of market counts, and Powell's doesn't cater to some smaller groups, like Jewish Studies scholars.


Powells, another phoney advertisng leader
Reviewed by Magick Wyrd  /  November 12 2007
As I have found for Half-Value, Buy.com, and of course the UK's Country and Blackwell "book shops", Powells has now assumed the "phoney book promotion" cloak to get you to visit their site. They use the same tactics with super-low price for OOP books that are both popular and typically costly to obtain. Twice this weekend an advertised book popped-up in sites I use to browse bookstores at two different times, and I checked them both immediately.

This was for a text I browse for daily or more often. The 1st time the advertising came through in an email notification I was looking at my in-box and immediately checked it out.

When you follow Powell's advertised link you get "book is out of print", or "no match for your book was found", and if you want futher information you can't get past "Sign-Up for an Account". Truly a resprehensible practice, dissappointing to see an otherwise excellent bookseller lose pride in good customer service.

I will no longer recommend Powells, they now fall into the category of low life, along with the bookstores I noted above.


always slow
Reviewed by GMal Top Reviewer  /  September 11 2007
I have ordered a few times from Powell's and Powell's Chicago (through Amazon) and found that they always take a long time to ship books, respond to emails, or cancel an order. One time they waited a week to tell me that they had misplaced a book they advertised on Amazon as being in stock, and while I waited, with no response to my emails, a cheap copy on ABE sold out. They also have the longest shipping time of any Amazon Marketplace, Alibris, Biblio, or ABE seller who ships from the US, out of more than 60 that I've used.


Good supplies, but....
Reviewed by Freda  /  December 04 2006
Powell's has a great inventory of used books, and very often has hard-to-find titles. But it's not an inexpensive place to shop, and it's shipping rates are very expensive. Over the years, I've bought dozens of books here. But the best ways to go with Powells are to buy more than $50 worth of books, and get free shipping (when that periodic offering comes around), or to wait for only those times when Powells has a book you really want, which no one else does. In those cases, the shipping is worth it.

Once in a while, Powells comes in cheapest. I recently found an excellent copy of an extremely rare 1990s book, priced at Powells at about a fifth of what the only two other sellers wanted. I snatched it up, and if I were a dealer could sell the book now at an enormous profit. A great find.

In short, Powells is an important resource for book lovers. But make sure to check the book's condition. Most of Powells offerings are used, not new. If you want first press books, go to the retail stores. Powells is best for those scouting for hard-to-find titles.


Advise against buying at Powell's
Reviewed by ilovemotherhood  /  July 13 2006
I found the book I had been searching for for over a month "in stock" at Powell's and ordered it. A week after receiving "confirmation" email, I checked the link provided to check status on the order. It stated "book on back-order!" eventhough it was supposedly "in stock." I never received an answer to my email inquiries either. After weeks of checking and rechecking the back-order status, it stated "cancelled." Very disappointing.


Everything was fine.
Reviewed by gunthii  /  January 26 2006
Everything was fine.


Powell's Books
Reviewed by Guest  /  November 22 2005
It is a great place to buy books. They always ship the books and I get them in a timely manner. I have been buying books from them for a few years and have always had a positive experience.


Good store
Reviewed by studyhound  /  October 19 2005
Very good on the quality of books and service, also very timely.


I did 2 orders !
Reviewed by Guest  /  October 12 2005
they sent books rather quickly and both in good conditions.


It's ok.
Reviewed by Guest  /  March 25 2005
I got the book I want.


Think twice.
Reviewed by Henry La  /  March 04 2005
I ordered a new book but they shipped a used one. I sent 3 messages in 5 weeks, but I still dont get any responsed. They dont care that I will coming back or not and there is no Feedback box on their web site. If you want to buy book from them think twice.


A very satisfied customer!
Reviewed by Guest  /  February 07 2005
I have ordered from Powells dozens of times in the last few years and have had a pleasant experience every single time.

Because I am on the East Coast and they are on West Coast I do sometimes have to wait a bit to receive my order, IF I choose the "free shipping" option..but Powells quality and reliability is worth the wait.

I love Powells!


very good quality books
Reviewed by Guest  /  January 31 2005
i bought a computer science java book from them, and it was supposed to be in used condition. I assume that a used book was supposed to look like it was used and worn down, but it was more like brand new!!


things are rather smooth
Reviewed by Guest  /  January 31 2005
I have bought a few time from powell's; it's OK with them.


hello
Reviewed by Guest  /  January 27 2005
I didn't order a book from them but I have a feeling that there will be a problem.


Powells is not too swift
Reviewed by Guest  /  January 26 2005
I ordered a book from powells yesterday and today I received a message saying it was unavailable and they were out of stock even though their computer said they had one. The E-mail said that it was because their stores are browsed by thousands a day and it was either bought or mis-shelved by an in store customer. Normally this would be only slightly upsetting, but their website which they claim is updated hourly still says this book is for sale and available and it is not. If you buy from powells don't get your hopes up, they might not have it in stock.


Powells is not to swift
Reviewed by Guest  /  January 26 2005
I ordered a book from powells yesterday and today I received a message saying it was unavailable and they were out of stock even though their computer said they had one. The E-mail said that it was because their stores are browsed by thousands a day and it was either bought or mis-shelved by an in store customer. Normally this would be only slightly upsetting, but their website which they claim is updated hourly still says this book is for sale and available and it is not. If you buy from powells don't get your hopes up, they might not have it in stock.


Good service
Reviewed by Guest  /  January 19 2005
I've ordered a used book from Powell's. It was in very good condition and very well packed.

Rate the Store    All Book Stores    Powell's books Customer Service Page


 



Contact Us | Privacy | Terms of Service | Get Involved
Copyright (c) 2002-2017 Cygnus Software Ltd.
For personal use only. All rights reserved.